2022/06: UK Council Members

ECFR has brought together a distinguished Council of over three hundred Members – serving politicians, decision makers, thinkers and business leaders from across the EU – which meets once a year as a full body.  Through geographical and thematic task forces, members provide ECFR staff with advice and feedback on policy ideas and contribute to ECFR’s activities in their own countries.


The Council is chaired by Carl Bildt, Lykke Friis and Norbert Röttgen.

UK Council Members:

  • Douglas Alexander – Senior Fellow, Harvard Kennedy School; Former Chair, Unicef UK; Former Secretary of State for International Development 
  • Valerie Amos – Director, SOAS University of London; former UN Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator 
  • Ian Clarkson – Founder, Celerant Consulting 
  • Robert Cooper – Diplomat; former Counsellor of the European External Action Service
  • Brendan Cox – Co-founder, More in Common
  • Alessandra Galloni (UK/Italy) – Global Managing Editor, Reuters
  • Timothy Garton Ash – Professor of European Studies, University of Oxford
  • Anthony Giddens – Life Fellow, University of Cambridge
  • Heather Grabbe – Executive Director, Open Society Policy Institute
  • Charles Grant – Director, Centre for European Reform
  • Jo Johnson – Former Minister for Universities and Science 
  • Mary Kaldor – Professor, London School of Economics
  • Mark Leonard – Director, European Council on Foreign Relations
  • Daniel Levy – President, US Middle East Project
  • Adam Lury – CEO, Menemsha Ltd
  • Kirsty McNeill – Director of Policy, Advocacy and Campaigns, Save the Children
  • Anand Menon – Director, UK in a Changin Europe; Professor of European Studies, Kings College London
  • David Miliband –  President & CEO, International Rescue Committee; former Foreign Secretary
  • Susan Morgan – Freelance Consultant; former Senior Programme Officer, Information Programme, Open Society Foundations
  • Andrew Puddephatt – Chair, Internet Watch Foundation; Executive Chair of Global Partners Digital Advisory’s Board 
  • Nicola Reindorp – Deputy Executive Director, Crisis Action
  • Janet Royall – Principal, Somerville College, University of Oxford; former leader of the opposition in the House of Lords
  • Adam Tooze – Shelby Cullom Davis Chair and Director European Institute, Columbia University 
  • Chuka Umunna – Former member of Parliament
  • Rob Wainwright – Senior Cyber Partner, Deloitte; former Executive Director, Europol